WC Day #6: Your views on mainstream music

“Music is an art form whose medium is sound.”

That was a short definition of music in Wikipedia. But I have my own opinion, I think music is a universal language. Like when you’re suddenly trapped in a random music festival, you don’t really know the lyrics, but you enjoy the rhythm — nodding your head constantly with the other audience. That’s a from of unity. I, with all my heart, love music so much. Though I can’t play instruments and my voice sounds like parrow, I enjoy music very much on a daily basis. I wake up in the morning with Coldplay’s A Sky Full of Stars. I shower with the highest volume of Tony Bennett’s Cheek To Cheek album. I feel a little flirty with Taylor Swift’s Blank Space as I put my make ups on. Then I’m ready to go with my “Teman Seperjalanan” playlist in my iPod. I sometimes turn on my YouTube’s playlist in the office hour — just to loosen up the muscles. Then continue relaxing on the way back home with James Horner’s or Howard Shore’s motion scores. So you can tell that everything I do always involve music πŸ˜€

I must say I listen to mainstream music. I grew up to pop music, you know when New Kids on the Block danced with their baggy pants and Britney’s still the pop princess. And this music industry has grown up big. For example, after the glory of boybands and pop princesses, then comes K-Pop that makes not only the business but also the worshipper going gaga. Then comes EDM (electronic dance music), making Calvin Harris, Zedd and David Guetta a big hit in the business. And now boybands hit the big screen again, but it’s a lot different with what I heard in 90’s era. Sorry I can’t mention all the music genres, I only hear what’s been repeating in radio. I think they’re all good and people have their own taste so I won’t judge. I used to look down on dangdut music but now I really respect the ones who sing it in a really good voice. As far as I know, dangdut is one of the most difficult music I’ve ever tried to understand or even sing. Wanna know why? Try to hear Rita Sugiarto’s Merana or Iyeth Bustami’s Laksmana Raja Di Laut πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

I sometimes hear random tunes. I’m gonna share my favorite playlist for this weekend πŸ™‚

  1. Jamie Graham’s LMNOP album
  2. Meghan Trainor’s Title album
  3. Danilla’s Telisik album
  4. Sam Smith’s In The Lonely Hour album
  5. Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga’s Cheek To Cheek album
  6. Camille’s Le Fil album
  7. The Vaccines’s Come of Age album
  8. Milky Chance’s Sadnecessary album
  9. Atlas Genius’s When It Was Now album
  10. Crystal Fighters’s Cave Rave album

9 Comments

Leave a Comment

